Posted by: weezl74 | July 31, 2011

easy peasy microwave Jam

One of our industrious recipe testers (Thank you S. H.) has shared this fantastically simple family recipe with us. Made with foraged blackberries, this made 2 jars of jam at 14 pence a jar.

1lb fruit

1lb sugar

1. put fruit in big microwaveable bowl, micro for 5mins (650watt)

2. add sugar and stir, micro 12mins

3. check its consistency by either dropping a spoonful into a bowl of ice water or spreading on to a cooled plate if it is still runny after about 20 seconds put it back in for a bit, if it sets then its done!

4. stick in jars

Responses

  1. Where do you buy sugar for 28p a lb?

    • Asda sugar works out at 61p a kilo for sugar, so that’s 27.6p a lb. It’s the 2kilo bag of silver spoon. Hope that helps!

  2. If you have an Asian shop near you, then they often have cheaper sugar. Definitely worth checking. In jam making season last summer, our local one had sugar on offer at 50p per kilo. With scrounged, given, foraged and homegrown fruit and this sugar, quite a few people had a box of homemade jams for Christmas from us.

    • Hello Jo!

      Great tip, thank you.

  3. I used foraged blackberries to make my own cordial today. Very easy, and very, very, very delicious. Cook 1,500g of blackberries in a little water. Boil till they burst, and help them along with a potato masher. Strain through a sieve. Put blackberry juice, 400g sugar, 1 tspn lemon juice in a pan. The recipe said to add a cinnamon stick. I didn’t have one, but I did add half a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. It made my kitchen smell like christmas. Bring to boil, and simmer for about 20 mins. Poor into sterilised bottles (or in my case, 1 sterilised wine bottle, and one sterilised jam jar). This tastes wonderful, and only cost me the price of the sugar. I’ll be making some more when I’ve gathered enough blackberries. By the way, I didn’t gather 1,500g of blackberries all in one go, but every time I found some, I froze them till I had enough.
    Andrea

  4. Thanks Andrea for the cordial recipe – my mum was reminiscing about one she used to make when I was little but had forgotten the recipe, will pass on to her!

    Also with the jam – does it need covering in the microwave?


Leave a Reply

Categories

