Posted by: weezl74 | March 2, 2010

pumpkin seed butter

I realised my subsistence diet I’ve been working on lacks Omega 3.

To redress this emabarrassing omission, we’ve invented a nut/seed butter for breakfasts and lunches:

400g peanuts

150gpumpkin seeds

70ml veg oil (100% rapeseed)

Blitz in a food processor until smooth. It’s fairly runny so as not to need any butter or spread with it šŸ™‚

Hope you enjoy it. DH and DS think it is nomnomnom šŸ™‚

make twice in the month- allow 25 g per person per meal


Responses

  1. That looks delicious, if a little like pesto.
    Does it taste like peanut butter?
    May have to give this a go on a day when I can be bothered to get the food processor out from all the other junk…

    Another gorgeous picture šŸ™‚

    • Hi! Thanks šŸ™‚ I was surprised by the greenness too, even though I know pumpkin seeds are green! Erm, tis not as peanutty as peanut butter, and the seeds add a really nice difference to that flavour. To me, the seeds offset that super rich sticky to the roof of your mouth factor that PB has, while the nuts offset that kind of rawish bitterness that you can get at the end of a mouthful of seeds…

      I really hope that waffle made sense!!! šŸ™‚

      • Hi Weezl,
        I think this is a fab recipe and I hope to make it regularly. However I could do with some advice. I’ve just made it and my processor wouldn’t do it so I ended up with it in my pestle and mortar. It isn’t as wet looking as yours and I’m wondering if the quantities on the recipe are right? If they are, any ideas where I went wrong?
        Any suggestions greatfully received šŸ™‚
        Ta ever so
        Tess


Leave a comment

Categories