Posted by: weezl74 | July 10, 2008

gnocchi

My gnocchi version
half a packet asda smart price instant mashed potato (you can’t taste the difference in this honest!) 8p

400g plain flour 9.6 p

make up mash according to packet instructions, I made mine a little wetter than normal, and added ground black pepper.

add flour and mix then knead until a fairly stiff dough. Somewhere between bread and pastry…Leave to rest for 30 mins then roll out into long sausages, about 1.5 cm fat, then cut into 2cm chunks. You can roll them into a ball now if you can be bothered!

Cook gnocchi in boiling water til they rise to the surface of boiling water, approx 2 mins.

Makes 4 generous portions.

Great for vegetarians…

Responses

  1. can you please tell me what the sauce is on the Gnocchi you are an inspiration

  2. dorry from mse here! just started reading your thread and loving your gnocci idea xxx

  3. Sounds really simple and delicious. My daughter makes a lovely cheese and onion pasty (frozen puff pastry) with instant mash, grated cheese and a chopped onion.

    I would also love to know what the sauce is that you have used in this photograph 🙂

  4. Love the blog, always enjoy reading it. I just made a gnocchi with choux pastry for the first time and it was incredible. Come take a look if you have a chance and let me know what you think. http://cookingquest.wordpress.com

    Thanks so much!

    Joe

  5. I just wanted to say thanks for this – I made the recipe myself, and I’m utterly impressed with it. Needless to say, I shall be making it again! Thank you!

  6. Your gnocci looks wonderful. Will be trying it.

  7. Oh, brill. I’m not thrifty, but I’m vegan and don’t want to go to Waitrose for gnocchi without milk or eggs. Also, I have some sainsbury’s economy instant mash which I’d like to use without trying to make it into mash again.

    What’s the weight of half a pack of ASDA economy mash?


Leave a Reply

Categories

